Australia v England


The Ashes, literally “Ashes,” is a series of test-cricket matches that pit, first every two years, then, recently, every year, the teams of England and Australia. It is held alternately in both countries. Several meetings constitute a series of Ashes, most often five.

The name of the prize comes from a satirical obituary published in the British newspaper The Sporting Times immediately after the first Australian team’s victory on English soil in 1882. The obituary said that “English cricket is dead, the body will be cremated and the ashes transported to Australia.” This mythical dust instantly became associated with the series of 1882-83, played in Australia. The captain of the English team Ivo Bligh vowed to “return this dust”, and the British press called the future series of games a tour of returning the ashes.

After the victory of the English team in two of the three tests, a group of Melbourne women presented a small silver urn as a gift to Ayvo Blay. One of these women was Florence Morphy, who soon married Bly. It is believed that the urn contains ash from a wooden bail bail, which is jokingly called “the dust of Australian cricket.” After the death of her husband in 1927, Florence Bligh presented a small terracotta urn to the Marylebone Cricket Club. It is not known for certain whether this urn is exactly that urn which was presented to Blai in Melbourne in 1882.

Being a personal gift to Blay, the urn has never been the official trophy of the tournament. However, the winning teams repeatedly lifted its copy into the air as a symbol of their victory in the series. Beginning with the 1998-99 series, the Waterford Crystal crystal urn is awarded to the team that won the series as an official trophy.

Regardless of which team owns the trophy at the moment, the urn never leaves the museum of the Merilbonsky Cricket Club, but it was taken to Australia twice: during the bicentennial of Australia in 1988 and during the 2006-07 test series.

Traditionally, the series consists of five tests and are held every two years, the teams take each other in turn. As of January 2018, the Australian team won 33 times, the team of England – 32, in five cases the series ended in a draw.

The first test match between Australia and England was played in 1877, but the legendary series Eshes started later, only after the ninth test of 1882, when the Australian team played only one test at the Oval stadium in London. The game took place on a “hard” field, the teams scored few wounds: the Australian team – only 63 in the first innings, the England team – 101. In the second innings, thanks to the excellent game of Hugh Massey, who collected 55 wounds from 60 innings, the Australian team scored 122 wounds. Thus, the British needed to score only 85 wounds to win. The Australians were disappointed with the outcome of their second innings, but their bowler Fred Spoffort, whipped up by the English on the verge of a foul, refused to surrender. “It can be done!” He declared. Spoffort destroyed the English team, taking 5 wickets in just 2 wounds. When Ted Petey, the last English batsman, entered the field, the British only needed 10 wounds to win, but Petey was able to master only 2 and was taken out of the game by the bowler Harry Boyle. The amazed spectators froze in silence, they thought it was incredible that England could lose to its colony. When they finally came to their senses, they ran out onto the field and loudly welcoming Boyle and Spoffort, took them to the main podium of the stadium, the pavilion.

When Petey also returned to the pavilion, the captain of the English team reprimanded him for taking over the game and refusing to play to his partner, Charles Stud, one of the best English batsmen who had twice won a hundred wounds in games this season. colonies.

Petey jokingly replied: “I was not sure about Mr. Studd, sir, I thought that better I would do everything possible.”

This significant defeat had a great resonance in the British press. On September 9, a poem appeared in the Punch magazine with a reference to the Demon from the country of the kangaroo, and on September 2, the famous obituary appeared in The Sporting Times.


The very first photo of the Ashes bins from Illustrated London News, 1921. The inscription under the photo: “Contains the” dust “of English cricket, is in the possession of Lord Darnley”

It took a long time before the series of games between Australia and England got their current name “Ashes”, for a long time there was no idea of ​​awarding the prize to the winning team. Here is what the rhyme was published in The Cricketers Annual in 1925:

  • So here’s to Chapman, Hendren and Hobbs,

Gilligan, Woolley and Hearne:

  • May they bring back to the Motherland,
  • The ashes which have no urn!

Nevertheless, several attempts were made to translate Ashes into some real trophy. So, for example, in 1904 the prize was presented to the captain of the English team, Sir PF Warner, in 1909 – to the captain of the Australians, M. A. Noble, and in 1934 – to another captain of the Australian team, Bill Woodfull. The oldest, most famous prize was awarded to Blai, later to Lord Darnley, during the tour of 1882-83. The exact origin of the urn is unknown and is a matter of controversy. According to Darnley himself in 1894, it is believed that a group of Victoria women, including Darnley’s future wife Florence Morphy, handed the ballot box after winning the third test in 1883. Later researchers, in particular Ronald Wills and Joy Manns, studied the tour in detail and concluded that the presentation took place after a private test that was played during the Christmas of 1882, when the English team visited Sir William Clark in his estate “Rupertswood” in Sunbury, Victoria. This happened before the main matches of the series. The descendants of Clark provided the main evidence of this theory.

In August 1926, Aivo Bligh, then Lord Darnley, put an Esches box at the decorative art exhibition held by the Morning Post in Central Hall Westminster. He made the following statement about how he received the urn

“When the English team XI went to Australia in the fall, a lot was said about the fact that they went there to “get hold of ” the ashes. England won two of the three tests played against the Australian XI. After the third match, a group of Melbourne ladies put some ash in a small urn and presented it to me as the captain of the England team.”

Overall Test Results

Tests played Australia Australia wins England England wins Draws

330 134 106 90

Series results, up to and including the 2017–18 Ashes series:

  • Overall Series Results

Series played Australia Australia wins England England wins Draws

70 33 32 5

The Trans-Tamaan Trophy is a series of international cricket series between Australia and New Zealand. The first Trans Taskman Trophy was held in Australia in 1985. Of the 17 trans tunnel series so far, Australia and New Zealand have won ten out of ten. The five series ended in a draw. .

Year of the Venice series

Star of Australia

New Zealand won

Wins the draw

  • 1985-86 Australia Richard Hadlee (NZ) 1 2 0 New Zealand
  • 1985-86 New Zealand 0 1 2 New Zealand
  • 1987-88 Australia Richard Hadlee (NZ) 1 0 2 Australia
  • 1989-90 Australia Mark Greatbuch (NZ) * 0 0 1 Australia
  • 1989-90 New Zealand John Wright (NZ) * 0 1 0 New Zealand
  • 1992-93 New Zealand by Danny Morrison (NZ) 1 1 1 New Zealand

Australia’s Shane Warne (Aus) 2 0 1 Australia

  • 1997-98 Australia Mark Taylor (Aus) 2 0 1 Australia
  • 1999-2000 New Zealand 3 0 0 Australia
  • 2001 Justin Langer (Aus) 0 0 3 Australia
  • 2004-05 Australia Glenn McGrath (Aus) 2 0 0 Australia
  • 2004-05 New Zealand Adam Gilchrist (Aus) 2 0 1 Australia
  • 2008-09 Australia Michael Clarke (Aus) 2 0 0 Australia
  • 2009-10 New Zealand 2 0 0 Australia
  • 2011-12 Australia James Pattinson (Aus) 1 1 0 Australia
  • Australia’s David Warner (Aus) 2 0 1 Australia